HANK ALDERFER; Congressional Record Vol. 163, No. 154
(Extensions of Remarks - September 26, 2017)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E1267]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]

                             HANK ALDERFER


                           HON. ED PERLMUTTER

                              of colorado

                    in the house of representatives

                      Tuesday, September 26, 2017

  Mr. PERLMUTTER. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize and applaud 
Hank Alderfer for receiving the 2017 Hall of Fame Award from the West 
  The Hall of Fame Award recognizes outstanding individuals who have 
significant, long-lasting impacts through their leadership and 
contributions to Jefferson County's economy, community and legacy.
  Hank Alderfer has shown a lifelong dedication to the Jefferson County 
community and is known for his love of history in the mountain 
communities. He was raised in Evergreen, Colorado on the Alderfer 
Ranch. Eventually the Alderfer family sold or donated much of their 
property to Jefferson County Open Space which would become the 242-acre 
Alderfer/Three Sisters Open Space Park. When the Alderfer ranch house 
and barn were designated historical landmarks, Hank contributed 
critical information to Jefferson County Planning and Zoning in the 
creation of the Evergreen Area Community Plan. During his tenure on the 
Board of the Evergreen Park and Recreation District, Hank was 
instrumental in developing the Evergreen hiking and biking trails known 
as the Evergreen Trails Plan. Hank also shares his vast knowledge of 
the history of the area in his Canyon Courier newspaper column 
  I extend my deepest congratulations to Hank Alderfer for this well-
deserved recognition by the West Chamber of Jefferson County.