RECOGNIZING PROFESSORS OF THE YEAR; Congressional Record Vol. 158, No. 146
(Senate - November 15, 2012)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Pages S6851-S6852]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []


 Mr. SCHUMER. Mr. President, today I wish to congratulate the 
four national winners of the Council for Advancement and Support of 
Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching's 
2012 United States Professors of the Year Award. Since 1981, this 
program has saluted outstanding undergraduate instructors throughout 
the country. In addition to the national winners, a State Professor of 
the Year was also recognized in 31 States. New York's 2012 State winner 
is Rees Shad, who is coordinator of the Media Design Programs at Hostos 
Community College of the City University of New York.
  These awards are recognized as one of the most prestigious honors 
bestowed upon a professor. To be nominated for this award requires 
dedication to the art of education and excellence in every aspect of 
the profession. Professors personally vested in each student shape the 
leaders of tomorrow. These individuals and every one of us should be 
proud of their accomplishment.
  I am also particularly proud that one of the four national winners is 
from my State of New York. Professor Todd Pagano, associate professor 
and director of the Laboratory Science Technology Program at the 
National Technical Institute for the Deaf at the Rochester Institute of 
Technology, is the 2012 Outstanding Master's Universities and Colleges 
Professor of the Year. In recognizing Professor Pagano, judges admired 
Todd Pagano's program for deaf students in laboratory science 
technology, which he helped to design, implement, and lead, coupled 
with the opportunities he has created for undergraduate research and 
internships that are critical to his students' success. Not only has 
Professor Pagano helped open up a new profession for an under-
represented group, but he is also a scholar of science education for 
deaf students, an editor of a leading journal in the field, and an 
advocate in the professional chemistry community for students, 
scientists and technicians with special needs.
  We need more professors and educators like Todd Pagano. He is a 
native of Rochester, NY, and decided to come home to educate the next 
generation of New Yorkers and Americans. He has instilled not only a 
love and passion for science, but he has given hope and direction to 
students who are deaf or hard of hearing. His work typifies the high 
educational standards at National Technical Institute for the Deaf, 
which is a stellar institution that leads the Nation in the technical 
education of all students, especially those that are deaf or hard of 
  Mr. President, I urge my colleagues to join me in recognizing and 
thanking Professor Pagano and all the winners for their leadership and 
passion for educating. They have undoubtedly inspired an untold number 
of students. I again offer my congratulations and best regards.
  The four national award winners are as follows:
  Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor of the Year; Christy 
Price, professor of psychology, Dalton State College.
  Outstanding Community Colleges Professor of the Year: Lois Roma-
Deeley, professor of creative writing, Paradise Valley Community 
  Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor of the Year: 
Autar Kaw, professor of mechanical engineering, University of South 
  Outstanding Master's Universities and Colleges Professor of the Year: 
Todd Pagano, associate professor of science and mathematics, director 
of laboratory science technology program, Rochester Institute of 
Technology/National Technical Institute for the Deaf.
  The 31 State winners are as follows:
  Arkansas--Stephanie Vanderslice, professor, Department of Writing, 
University of Central Arkansas;
  Arizona--Albrecht Classen, university distinguished professor of 
German studies, University of Arizona;
  Colorado--Barry Fagin, professor of computer science, U.S. Air Force 
  Connecticut--Deborah A. Carroll, professor of psychology and 
director, B.S. psychology, research specialization, Southern 
Connecticut State University;
  Washington, DC--Patrick Thaddeus Jackson, associate dean for 
undergraduate studies, School of International Service, American 
  Florida--Pat Anderson, professor of aerospace engineering, Embry-
Riddle Aeronautical University;
  Georgia--Judith Lupo Wold, clinical professor and interim associate 
dean for educational innovation, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of 
Nursing, Emory University;
  Idaho--Daniel Bukvich, distinguished professor, University of Idaho
  Illinois--Gary Creasey, professor of psychology, assistant director, 
U.S. Department of Education, TEACHER+PLUS Project, Illinois State 
  Indiana--Michele T. Villinski, Hiram L. Jome professor and associate 
professor of economics and management, codirector of the Environmental 
Fellows Program, DePauw University;
  Kentucky--Tom McCollough, Nelson and Martha McDowell Rodes professor 
of Religion Centre College;
  Massachusetts--Michael Barnett, associate professor of science 
education and technology, Lynch School of Education, Boston College;
  Maryland--John Hamman, professor and chair, Germantown Mathematics 
Department, Montgomery College;
  Michigan--Stephen DeBacker, Arthur F. Thurnau professor of 
mathematics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor;
  Missouri--Eric William Nelson, professor of history, Missouri State 
  Montana--Michael W. Morrow, professor of biology, University of 
Montana Western;
  Nebraska--Rita M. Lester, professor of religion, Nebraska Wesleyan 
  New Jersey--Kent Fairfield, associate professor, Fairleigh Dickinson 
  New Mexico--Kenneth J. Martin, regents professor of finance, New 
Mexico University;
  Nevada--Alfredo Fernandez-Gonzalez, associate professor of 
architecture; director, Natural Energies Advanced Technologies 
Laboratory, University of Nevada, Las Vegas;
  New York--Rees Shad, coordinator of the Media Design Programs, Hostos 
Community College of the City University of New York;
  Ohio--Gillian Oakenfull, associate professor and director of 
experiential learning, Department of Marketing, Miami University;
  Oregon--Juliet W. Brosing, professor of physics, Pacific University;
  South Carolina--Alliston K. Reid, Reeves family professor of 
psychology, Wofford College;
  Tennessee--Michael Pinter, director of the Teaching Center and 
professor of mathematics, Belmont University;

[[Page S6852]]

  Texas--Greg Sherman, professor of physics, Collin College;
  Utah--Michael Christiansen, professor of music, Utah State 
  Virginia--Robert Swap, associate professor, University of Virginia;
  Washington--Karl Fields, professor of politics and government and 
Asian studies, University of Puget Sound;
  Wisconsin--Gregory S. Aldrete, Frankenthal professor of history and 
humanistic studies, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay; and
  West Virginia--Dan Hollis, associate professor of journalism and mass 
communications, Marshall University.