(Extensions of Remarks - January 21, 2004)

Text available as:

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E23]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office []



                           HON. RALPH M. HALL

                                of texas

                    in the house of representatives

                      Wednesday, January 21, 2004

  Mr. HALL. Mr. Speaker, I am honored today to recognize the 
Gainesville Leopards for winning the Class 3A Division I state football 
championship on December 13, 2003.
  The Leopards' marquee season was one for the record books. The team 
finished the season with a perfect 15-0 record, becoming the first 
Gainesville High School team to ever win a state football championship. 
They achieved this victory by defeating the No. 1-ranked Burnet High 
School Bulldogs--a team that boasted the state's top passer and 
receiver. Led by first-year coach Jeff Cordell, the Leopards fought off 
a formidable team with a blistering offense to win the game by a score 
of 35-24.
  The game was punctuated by Gainesville's impressive rushing offense. 
Running back Terrius Purvey led the team with 26 carries for 232 yards, 
and quarterback Chris Brown scored two touchdowns late in the game. But 
the win was a team effort, as it had been throughout the season. The 22 
seniors, 5 juniors, and 6 sophomores followed the lead of the 11 
Leopard's coaches and overcame a season of challenges.
  For the town of Gainesville, Texas, the mighty Leopard team brought 
the community together like never before. After a special sendoff in 
Gainesville, fans from all over north Texas traveled to Texas Stadium 
to cheer on the team. A supportive community that proudly displayed 
Leopard car flags and victory messages backed the united varsity team. 
On behalf of the players, coaches, and fans, I want to take this 
opportunity in the House of Representatives to congratulate the new 
state champions--The Gainesville Leopards.