Andrew Shoenig, who is our international programs manager. He makes all the international programs that you have heard about possible. He truly does. He started as an intern and has now been with us full-time for over 2 years. We are really very fortunate to have him.

Sharon Witiw, she is our member services manager. You probably have gotten emails from her. She takes exceptionally good care of our 600 association members and all their various requests, needs, and inquiries. Also, without her, our most important domestic program, the Congress to Campus Program, would not be in as good a shape as it is.

Sabine Schleidt is our international programs director and oversees all the current Member programs which are so impressive and important. In the 3 years that she has been with us, she has transformed all the Study Groups into substantive and incredibly productive exchanges that now involve more current Members than ever, including a Diplomatic Advisory Council, which now has about 30 ambassadors from the region that belong.

Pete Weichlein, he is our CEO, and he has been with the organization for 15 years. Pete, I call him the renaissance man because he does so many things and does them all so well: managing, extending our services to other programs, finding synergy in places we never even thought existed. He is there every step of the way, and we very much value his leadership.

And so I would like to have you give a round of applause. It is amazing, so few people can do so much. You heard about the programs, just think, these are the people who help it happen.

In addition to our wonderful staff, we benefit greatly from volunteers who lend their talents and their expertise pro bono. None deserve more appreciation than Dava Guerin. She has taken on the role of our communications director. She tells our story and connects us with the media.

Thank you, Dava. We really appreciate all that you do also. And I hope you are watching this program, although we will see the minutes.

Every year at our annual meeting, we ask the membership to elect new officers and board members. I therefore now will read to you the names of the candidates for board members and officers. They are all running unopposed. I have never run in an election unopposed. They are all running unopposed, and I therefore ask for a simple "yea" or "nay" as I present to you the list of candidates as a slate.

For the association's board of directors the candidates are:

Mary Bono of California Vic Fazio of California Martin Frost of Texas Bart Gordon of Tennessee Jim Kolbe of Arizona Steve LaTourette of Ohio David Scaggs of Colorado Cliff Stearns of Florida Jim Walsh of New York Albert Wynn of Maryland.

All in favor of electing these ten former Members to our board of directors, please say, "yea." I hear it unanimously. All opposed? Hearing no objection, the slate has been elected by the membership.

Next, we will elect our executive committee. The candidates for our executive committee are: Barbara Kennelly of Connecticut for president, Jim Walsh of New York for vice president, Martin Frost of Texas for treasurer, Mary Bono of California for secretary.

All in favor of electing these four former Members to our Executive Committee, please say, "yea." I hear it. All opposed? Hearing no opposition, the slate has been elected by the membership. I shall join the executive board in my capacity as immediate past president. And let's have a round of applause for all those newly elected members of our board and our officers.

Well, now it is my sad duty to inform the Congress of those former and current Members who have passed away since our last report. I ask all of you, including any visitors, to rise as I read the names, and at the end of the list we will pay our respects to their memory with a moment of silence.

We honor these men and women for their service to our country, and they are:

Howard Baker, Jr. of Tennessee Ben Garrido Blaz of Guam Lindy Boggs of Louisiana Harry F. Byrd, Jr. of Virginia Howard Callaway of Georgia William Coyne of Pennsylvania Butler Carson Derrick, Jr. of South Carolina

Alan Dixon of Illinois Thomas Foley of Washington John Gilligan of Ohio Rod Grams of Minnesota Kenneth James Gray of Illinois William Gray of Pennsylvania William Hathhaway of Maine Jack Hightower of Texas Donald Irwin of Connecticut Andy Jacobs, Jr. of Indiana Frank Lautenberg of New Jersey John McCollister of Nebraska Jim Oberstar of Minnesota Major Owens of New York Otis Pike of New York Robert Roe of New Jersey William Roy of Kansas William Scranton of Pennsylvania E. Clay Shaw of Florida Ike Skelton of Missouri David Michael Staton of West Virginia

Michael L. Strang of Colorado Arlan Strangeland of Minnesota Barbara Vucanovich of Nevada George C. Wortley of New York Charles Young of Florida. Thank you.

That concludes the 44th report to Congress by the United States Association of Former Members of Congress.

We thank the Congress, the Speaker, and the minority leader for giving us the opportunity to return to this revered Chamber and to report on our association's activities. We thank them also personally for their comments to us and encouragement. We look forward to another active and productive year.

Thank you.

Ms. KENNELLY. The meeting is adjourned.

The meeting adjourned at 9:19 a.m.

□ 1200

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker at noon.

PRAYER

The Chaplain, the Reverend Patrick J. Conroy, offered the following prayer: Lord God, we give You thanks for giving us another day.

For all of us, some days are better than others, some tasks more difficult than others, but You have shown grace and favor to our country since its inception. Please guide our Nation's leaders to make wise decisions in the best interests of citizens everywhere.

For those who feel called by You to serve, let them say, "Here I am. Send me." Grant all of the Members of this House integrity of action so that they act not for their own honor and glory but, rather, for the welfare of all of their constituents.

Lord, we also pray for all former Members of Congress, many of whom are gathered here at the Capitol today. Continue to guide them along their way, revealing to them the truth and bringing them to the fullness of life. May their examples of heroic statesmanship be an inspiration to all.

May all that is done this day be for Your greater honor and glory.

Amen.

THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER. The Chair has examined the Journal of the last day's proceedings and announces to the House his approval thereof.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal stands approved.

Mr. MESSER. Mr. Speaker, pursuant to clause 1, rule I, I demand a vote on agreeing to the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

The SPEAKER. The question is on the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

The question was taken; and the Speaker announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Mr. MESSER. Mr. Speaker, I object to the vote on the ground that a quorum is not present and make the point of order that a quorum is not present.

The SPEAKER. Pursuant to clause 8, rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

The point of no quorum is considered withdrawn.