EXTENSIONS OF REMARKS

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

HON. JOHN BOOZMAN

OF ARKANSAS

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, November 29, 2010

Mr. BOOZMAN. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 579, I was not present and am not recorded due to a family illness. Had I been present, I would have voted "no."

HONORING THE ARIZONA STATE MUSEUM

HON. RAÚL M. GRIJALVA

OF ARIZONA

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, November 29, 2010

Mr. GRIJALVA. Madam Speaker, it is my pleasure to rise today to honor the Arizona State Museum on achieving re-accreditation from the American Association of Museums.

Accreditation comes after a comprehensive and rigorous performance appraisal which recognizes only the highest professional standards of operation. The Arizona State Museum joins an impressive group of 778 institutions accredited by the AAM.

The official curator for the archaeological treasures of the great state of Arizona, Arizona State Museum is located in Tucson, on the campus of the University of Arizona. Established in 1893, it pre-dates the state and stands as the oldest and largest anthropology museum in the Southwest region.

Its archaeological repository is the largest and busiest in the nation, second only to the Smithsonian itself.

Its vast and various collections, coupled with the collective body of research conducted there over the past century, are among the world's most significant resources for the study of southwestern peoples and the archaeology and history of the southwest.

Among the millions of objects it holds in trust for the people of Arizona is the world's largest and most comprehensive collection of Southwest American Indian pottery—some 20,000 whole vessels. Equal in number and significance is its collection of Southwest American Indian basketry.

The nation's museums play an important role in education, tourism and to the quality of life it provides for every community it resides in. The Arizona State Museum is one of these organizations and the people of Arizona have these and many more reasons to be proud of their state museum. CONGRATULATING THE 2010 JOHN GLENN HIGH SCHOOL SPELL BOWL TEAM

HON. JOE DONNELLY

OF INDIANA IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, November 29, 2010

Mr. DONNELLY of Indiana. Madam Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the John Glenn High School Spell Bowl team of Walkerton Indiana for winning the Division II Indiana Academic Spell Bowl held on November 13, 2010 at Purdue University.

Champions for the 15th time in 24 years, the spellers earned a score of 86 out of 90, the third highest score out of all 30 teams in the four enrollment divisions at the state finals. John Glenn is also the only high school to win Spell Bowl State Championships in two different enrollment divisions.

Earning perfect scores at state were Seniors Erika Groves, Rachel Simms and Chloe Jacobson; Juniors Elly Alexander and Miranda Kafantaris; and Sophomore J.J. Silvey. Near perfect spellers were Senior Garrett Blad; Junior Kim Lord; Sophomore Ann Heckaman-Davis; and Freshman Erin Patterson. Alternates on the team were Tyler Foster, Ben Keller, Emily Thomas, Maryellen Schmalzried, Sage Bladow, Chris Mahank, Morgan Kafantaris, Katie Groves, and Raven Miller. The team is coached by English teacher Paul Hernandez who credited hard work and practicing three times a week for the victory.

Again, I rise to offer my congratulations to the members of the John Glenn High School Spell Bowl team for their extraordinary accomplishments throughout the competition.

HONORING THE GRADUATES OF "I AM . . . WE ARE"

HON. ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON

OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, November 29, 2010

Ms. NORTON. Madam Speaker, I rise today to ask the House of Representatives to join me in celebrating the graduates of the "I Am . . . We Are" community service program.

The "I Am . . . We Are" community service program is run by Project Director Michael Williams and Tamara Jenkins through the offices of the TimeBanks, USA program initiated by Chris Gray and Edgar Cahn.

The 40 graduates performed community service in the District of Columbia at the National Park Service, The Frederick Douglass House, The D.C. Department of Parks and Recreation, the Metropolitan Police Department and many other places, with the support of several D.C. Council members.

Despite coming from underprivileged and impoverished neighborhoods, the teen graduates devoted their summer beautifying our many parks and assisting the National Park Service with sprucing up the Frederick Douglass House.

The Honorable Lee F. Satterfield, Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, offered these young people his inspirational and hearty congratulations as the keynote speaker at the graduation ceremony. D.C. Council members Phil Mendelson and Michael Brown also praised the graduates at the ceremony. The awardees and honorees include Brenda Richardson, Community Liaison in the Office of D.C. Council member Marion Barry; Ivana Williams, who successfully secured the grant for this program; Nicole Straughter, of the Campbell Group, who is a third-year student at the University of the District of Columbia (UDC) David A. Clarke School of Law; Jeanne Campbell, CEO of the Campbell Group; Katherine S. Broderick, Dean of the UDC law school; Madelyn Yates, of the National Park Service; Julie Kutruff, Director, Frederick Douglass House; and Sheila Lock, of WINN Development Corporation. Supporters and parents of the graduates also attended the ceremony to congratulate the students on their hard work in the District of Columbia.

Madam Speaker, I ask the House of Representatives to join me in celebrating the graduates of "I Am . . . We Are" community service program as they look forward to welcoming another class of inspiring youth.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

HON. JOHN BOOZMAN

OF ARKANSAS

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, November 29, 2010

Mr. BOOZMAN. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 578, I was not present and am not recorded due to a family illness. Had I been present, I would have voted "no."

ACKNOWLEDGING ELAINE AND MIKE ADLER FOR THEIR GEN-EROUS CONTRIBUTION TO RAM-APO COLLEGE

HON. STEVEN R. ROTHMAN

OF NEW JERSEY

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, November 29, 2010

Mr. ROTHMAN of New Jersey. Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize Elaine and Mike Adler for their generous contribution to Ramapo College of New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Adler have recently announced a \$2 million gift that will finance the new Adler Center for Nursing Excellence. This donation will be the lead gift in Ramapo College's capital campaign to renovate its Science Center.

The Adler Center for Nursing Excellence will provide a new home for Ramapo College's nursing programs. This building will double the size of available laboratories and classroom

[•] This "bullet" symbol identifies statements or insertions which are not spoken by a Member of the Senate on the floor. Matter set in this typeface indicates words inserted or appended, rather than spoken, by a Member of the House on the floor.