HONORING 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF SPRING CITY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

HON. JIM GERLACH

OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Mr. GERLACH. Madam Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the students, parents, teachers, administrators and staff of Spring City Elementary School in Chester County, Pennsylvania as they celebrate the school's 50th anniversary.

During the last half century, Spring City Elementary has been a cornerstone in the community and the starting point for students' edu-

cational journeys.

Spring City Elementary was built on the former site of the Spring City Race Track on South Wall Street just a few years after the formal establishment of the Spring-Ford School District. When the school opened in the spring of 1960, 305 students were enrolled.

Spring City Elementary is tremendously proud of the supportive, caring environment for learning and working. That nurturing atmosphere creates a sense of community that is as sturdy as the bricks and steel used to build the school.

Madam Speaker, I ask that my colleagues join me today in congratulating the Spring City Elementary School community as it commemorates this memorable milestone and in offering the students, parents, teachers, administrators and staff best wishes for continued success.

MARIALAINA PRECIADO

HON. ED PERLMUTTER

OF COLORADO

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Mr. PERLMUTTER. Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize and applaud Marialaina Preciado who has received the Arvada Wheat Ridge Service Ambassadors for Youth award. Marialaina Preciado is an 8th grader at Wheat Ridge Middle School and received this award because her determination and hard work have allowed her to overcome adversities.

The dedication demonstrated by Marialaina Preciado is exemplary of the type of achievement that can be attained with hard work and perseverance. It is essential students at all levels strive to make the most of their education and develop a work ethic which will guide them for the rest of their lives.

I extend my deepest congratulations once again to Marialaina Preciado for winning the Arvada Wheat Ridge Service Ambassadors for Youth award. I have no doubt she will exhibit the same dedication and character to all her future accomplishments.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

HON. KAY GRANGER

OF TEXAS

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Ms. GRANGER. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 241, I was absent from the House. Had I been present, I would have voted "aye."

RECOGNIZING MR. RALPH WIL-LIAMS FOR HIS COMMITMENT TO STUDENTS AND EDUCATION IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

HON. JOHN BOOZMAN

OF ARKANSAS

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Mr. BOOZMAN. Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize Mr. Ralph Williams, who after dedicating his life to education, is retiring after 39 years of service to the Fort Smith Public Schools.

Mr. Williams has worn many hats during his time as an educator. From teacher, principal, social worker and now Student Services Supervisor for the school district, he has always stepped up to a new challenge with enthusiasm.

His commitment to students earned well-deserved honors, including being named the Regional Principal of the Year, the Arkansas Principal of the Year and the National Distinguished Principal—all while a principal at Fairview Elementary School.

Mr. Williams has always worked to create a learning environment that can benefit all students. His efforts to bring technology into the classroom and provide challenging programs are helping mold our future leaders. Now at his current position Mr. Williams works to encourage at-risk students to do better in school and make the most of their educational opportunities.

I am proud of Mr. Ralph Williams for his commitment to education and his efforts to improve the lives of students in Fort Smith, Arkansas, and wish him the best of luck in retirement.

MARIE BANKS

HON. ED PERLMUTTER

OF COLORADO

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Mr. PERLMUTTER. Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize and applaud Marie Banks who has received the Arvada Wheat Ridge Service Ambassadors for Youth award. Marie Banks is a 7th grader at Mandalay Middle School and received this award because her determination and hard work have allowed her to overcome adversities.

The dedication demonstrated by Marie Banks is exemplary of the type of achievement that can be attained with hard work and perseverance. It is essential students at all levels strive to make the most of their education and develop a work ethic which will quide them for the rest of their lives.

I extend my deepest congratulations once again to Marie Banks for winning the Arvada Wheat Ridge Service Ambassadors for Youth award. I have no doubt she will exhibit the same dedication and character to all her future accomplishments.

RECOGNIZING THE INDUCTION OF 42 SEVENTH GRADE STUDENTS OF CHESTNUT RIDGE MIDDLE SCHOOL OF FISHERTOWN INTO THE NATIONAL JUNIOR HONOR SOCIETY

HON. BILL SHUSTER

OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Mr. SHUSTER. Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize the induction of 42 seventh grade students of Chestnut Ridge Middle School of Fishertown into the National Junior Honor Society. The Chestnut Ridge chapter will holds its induction ceremony on Monday, May 3, 2010.

Induction into the National Junior Honor Society is reserved for students with impressive academic achievement and a high potential for personal and intellectual growth. The incoming students of the Chestnut Ridge Chapter have distinguished themselves in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, citizenship, and character. As NJHS members, these young men and women will build on their commendable dedication to academic and personal excellence. They have taken an important step of growing into the leaders of the next generation.

The following Chestnut Ridge Middle School students have been inducted: Rachel Dikum, Cassandra Brown, Hannah Miller, Jennifer Carthew, Nativa O'Brien, Emily Sprigg, Matthew Claar, Katie Weaver, Abby Barnes, Derrick Claar, Casey Fleegle, Lucas Berkey, Megan Anderson, Kimberly Bischof, Shane Davis, Christian Collins, Holly Davis, Toshia Rush, Harold Wentz, Natalie Dumin, Cassandra Wright, Kenzie Bowser, Nicholas Hyde, Austin Taylor, Brittany Finnegan, Caitlyn Ferguson, Brandon Mowry, Paul Sims, Trent Crouse, Dakota Kauffman, Kylee Snyder, Jarret Dunn, Luke Stultz, Jonathon Heming, Alesha Rightenour, Lakyn Code, Bradley Frankenberry, Makayla Weaverling, Mylee Dull, Derek Gardner, Andrew Loar, and Colby Hillegass.

These inductees have already displayed remarkable talent and depth of character. I congratulate the new members of the Chestnut Ridge Middle School National Junior Honor Society on the honor they are receiving, and I look forward to many more great achievements.

HONORING MR. ROBERT T. CIANELLI

HON. C.A. DUTCH RUPPERSBERGER

OF MARYLAND

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Mr. RUPPERSBERGER. Madam Speaker, I rise before you today to honor the tireless service of Mr. Robert T. Cianelli as a volunteer driver for the Disabled American Veterans Transportation Network and a dedicated supporter of America's military personnel. To salute his service, Mr. Cianelli was awarded the 2009 Congressional Volunteer Recognition Award by the Veterans Advisory Council for Maryland's 2nd District.

Veterans of the United States Armed Forces have dedicated themselves to protecting the