When I talk to Muslim leaders in my district they tell me that the only good thing to come out of these attacks is the raised awareness of their religion and their resulting ability to educate many for the first time on the true tenants of their faith. I am proud of the many Muslims in New Jersey for the work they do everyday to promote peace and religious tolerance. look forward to a day when all Americans will know the true values of Islam, and understand the hateful and perverted "faith" of those who would commit these deadly attacks.

Terrorism sadly has become a tragic trend in our day and age. The targeting of innocent civilians in brutal attacks throughout the world, in London, New York, Washington, Madrid, the Middle East, and the latest attacks in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt all make us a little less secure as human beings. These attacks cannot be allowed to continue. They rob us all of our life and liberty. We cannot let terrorism become a commonplace aspect of our lives. Consequently, I support this resolution to affirm the solidarity of all Americans with the Egyptian people, and condemn these terrorists attacks.

Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN. Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. FOLEY). The question is on the motion offered by the gentlewoman from Florida (Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN) that the House suspend the rules and agree to the resolution, H. Res. 384.

The question was taken.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. In the opinion of the Chair, two-thirds of those present have voted in the affirmative.

Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX and the Chair's prior announcement, further proceedings on this motion will be postponed.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on certain questions previously postponed. Votes will be taken in the following order:

ordering the previous question on House Resolution 387, by the yeas and navs:

adopting House Resolution 387. if ordered:

suspending the rules on S. 544, by the yeas and nays;

suspending the rules on S. 45, by the yeas and nays.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. Remaining electronic votes will be conducted as 5minute votes.

PROVIDING FOR CONSIDERATION 3283,UNITED STATES OF H.R. TRADE RIGHTS ENFORCEMENT ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The pending business is the vote on ordering the previous question on House Resolution 387 on which the yeas and nays are ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the resolution

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous question.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were-yeas 226, nays 202. not voting 5. as follows:

[Roll No. 432] YEAS-226

Aderholt Gerlach Gibbons Akin Alexander Gilchrest Bachus Gillmor Baker Gingrey Barrett (SC) Gohmert Bartlett (MD) Goode Barton (TX) Goodlatte Bass Granger Beauprez Graves Green (WI) Biggert Bilirakis Gutknecht Bishop (UT) Hall Blackburn Harris Blunt Hart Hastings (WA) Boehlert Boehner Hayes Hayworth Bonilla Bonner Hefley Hensarling Bono Boozman Herger Boustany Hobson Bradley (NH) Hoekstra Brady (TX) Hostettler Brown (SC) Hulshof Brown-Waite. Hunter Ginny Hvde Inglis (SC) Burgess Burton (IN) Istook Buyer Jenkins Calvert Jindal Johnson (CT) Camp Cannon Johnson, Sam Jones (NC) Cantor Capito Keller Carter Kelly Castle Kennedy (MN) Chabot King (IA) Chocola King (NY) Coble Kingston Cole (OK) Kirk Conaway Kline Knollenberg Cox Crenshaw Kolbe Kuhl (NY) Cubin Culherson LaHood Cunningham Latham Davis (KY) LaTourette Davis, Jo Ann Davis, Tom Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Deal (GA) DeLay Linder Dent LoBiondo Diaz-Balart, L Lucas Lungren, Daniel Diaz-Balart, M. Doolittle Ε. Drake Mack Manzullo Dreier Duncan Marchant Ehlers McCaul (TX) McCotter Emerson English (PA) McCrery McHenry Everett McHugh Feenev Fergusor McKeon Fitzpatrick (PA) McMorris Flake Mica Miller (FL) Foley Forbes Miller (MI) Fortenberry Miller, Gary Fossella Moran (KS) Foxx Muserave Franks (AZ) Myrick Neugebauer Frelinghuysen Gallegly Nev Garrett (NJ) Northup NAYS-202 Abercrombie Baird Baldwin Ackerman Allen Barrow Andrews Bean Baca Becerra

Norwood Nunes Nussle Osborne Otter Oxlev Paul Pearce Pence Peterson (PA) Petri Pickering Pitts Poe Pombo Porter Price (GA) Prvce (OH) Putnam Radanovich Ramstad Regula Rehberg Reichert Renzi Revnolds Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rovce Ryan (WI) Ryun (KS) Saxton Schwarz (MI) Sensenbrenner Sessions Shadegg Shaw Shays Sherwood Shimkus Shuster Simmons Simpson Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Sodrel Souder Stearns Sullivan Sweeney Tancredo Taylor (NC) Terry Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Tiberi Turner Upton Walden (OR) Walsh Wamp Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller Westmoreland Whitfield Wicker Wilson (NM) Wilson (SC) Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Berkley Berman

Berry

Bishop (GA)

Bishop (NY)

Brown (OH) Brown, Corrine Butterfield Capps Capuano Cardin Cardoza Carnahan Carson Case Chandler Clay Cleaver Clyburn Conyers Cooper Costa Costello Cramer Crowley Cuellar Cummings Davis (AL) Davis (CA) Davis (FL) Davis (IL) Davis (TN) DeFazio DeGette Delahunt DeLauro Dicks Dingell Doggett Doyle Edwards Emanuel Engel Eshoo Etheridge Evans Farr Fattah Filner Ford Frank (MA) Gonzalez Gordon Green, Al Green, Gene Grijalva Gutierrez Harman Hastings (FL) Herseth Higgins Hinchey Hinojosa Holden Brady (PA) Issa.

Blumenauer

Boren

Boswell

Boucher

Boyd

Holt

Honda

Hover

Inslee

Israel

Kind

Lee

Levin

Pallone Hoolev Pascrell Pastor Payne Pelosi Jackson (IL) Peterson (MN) Jackson-Lee Pomerov (TX) Price (NC) Jefferson Rahall Johnson, E. B. Rangel Jones (OH) Reves Kaniorski Ross Kaptur Rothman Kennedy (RI) Rovhal-Allard Kildee Ruppersberger Kilpatrick (MI) Rush Ryan (OH) Kucinich Sabo Langevin Salazar Lantos Sánchez, Linda Larsen (WA) Т. Larson (CT) Sanchez, Loretta Sanders Schakowsky Lewis (GA) Schiff Lipinski Schwartz (PA) Lofgren, Zoe Scott (GA) Lowey Scott (VA) Lvnch Serrano Maloney Sherman Markev Skelton Marshall Slaughter Matheson Smith (WA) Matsui Snyder McCarthy Solis McCollum (MN) Spratt McDermott McGovern Stark Strickland McIntyre Stupak McKinney Tanner McNulty Tauscher Meehan Taylor (MS) Meek (FL) Thompson (CA) Meeks (NY) Thompson (MS) Melancon Tierney Menendez Towns Michaud Udall (CO) Millender-Udall (NM) McDonald Van Hollen Miller (NC) Miller, George Velázquez Visclosky Mollohan Moore (KS) Wasserman Moore (WI) Schultz Waters Moran (VA) Murtha Watson Nadler Watt Waxman Napolitano Neal (MA) Weiner Oberstar Wexler Woolsey Wu Wvnn NOT VOTING--5

Johnson (IL) Platts Murphy

Obey

Olver

Ortiz

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. FOLEY) (during the vote). Members are advised 2 minutes remain in this vote.

\Box 1429

Mr. BONILLA changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the previous question was ordered. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Stated for:

Mr. JOHNSON of Illinois. Mr. Speaker, on rollcall No. 432 I was unavoidably detained. Had I been present, I would have voted "yea."

Mr. ISSA. Mr. Speaker, on rollcall No. 432, I was chair of a subcommittee and had to complete the Record. Had I been present, I would have voted "yea."

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the resolution.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

H6839

Owens