Young (AK)

Young (FL)

Wynn

Zeliff

Zimmer

Souder

Stark

Yates

Studds

Visclosky

anything they may have heard otherwise, that after this next vote, the suspension vote that we are about to take, there will be no more votes tonight because of the granting of unanimous consent awhile ago.

So, we can all go home after the next

DISPENSING WITH CALL OF PRIVATE CALENDAR

Mr. McCOLLUM. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent to dispense with the call of the Private Calendar.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. (Mr. HOBSON). Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Florida? There was no objection.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to the provisions of clause 5, rule I, the Chair will now put the question on the motion to suspend the rules on which further proceedings were postponed today.

MEGAN'S LAW

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The pending business is the question of suspending the rules and passing the bill, H.R. 2137, as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Florida McCollum] that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 2137, as amended, on which the yeas and nays are ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 418, nays 0, not voting 15, as follows:

[Roll No. 149]

YEAS-418

Abercrombie Borski Coleman Ackerman Boucher Collins (GA) Allard Brewster Collins (IL) Andrews Browder Collins (MI) Archer Brown (CA) Combest Brown (FL) Condit Armey Bachus Brown (OH) Conyers Baesler Brownback Cooley Costello Baker (CA) Bryant (TN) Baker (LA) Bryant (TX) Cox Baldacci Bunn Coyne Bunning Ballenger Cramer Barcia Burr Crane Barr Burton Crapo Barrett (NE) Cremeans Buver Barrett (WI) Callahan Cubin Bartlett Calvert Cummings Cunningham Barton Camp Campbell Bateman Canady Davis de la Garza Cardin Becerra Bentsen Castle Deal DeFazio Bereuter Chabot Berman Chambliss DeLauro Bevill Bilbray Chapman Chenoweth DeLay Dellums Bilirakis Christensen Deutsch Bishop Chrysler Diaz-Balart Bliley Clay Dickey Blute Clayton Dicks Boehlert Clement Clinger Dingell Dixon Boehner Doggett Bonilla Clyburn Dooley Doolittle Bonior Coble Coburn Bono

Kanjorski Dornan Dovle Kaptur Dreier Kasich Duncan Kelly Kennedy (MA) Dunn Durbin Kennedy (RI) Edwards Kennelly Ehlers Kildee Ehrlich Emerson King Kingston Engel English Kleczka Ensign Klink Eshoo Klug Knollenberg Evans Everett Kolbe Ewing LaFalce Farr LaHood Fattah Lantos Fawell Largent Fazio Latham Fields (LA) LaTourette Fields (TX) Laughlin Filner Lazio Leach Flake Flanagan Levin Lewis (CA) Foglietta Foley Lewis (GA) Forbes Lewis (KY) Fowler Lightfoot Lincoln Fox Frank (MA) Linder Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Lipinski Livingston Frelinghuysen LoBiondo Frisa Lofgren Frost Longley Funderburk Lowey Furse Lucas Gallegly Luther Ganske Maloney Gejdenson Manton Manzullo Gekas Gephardt Markey Martinez Gilchrest Martini Gillmor Mascara Gilman Matsui McCarthy Gonzalez McCollum Goodlatte Goodling McCrery McDermott Gordon Goss McHale Graham McHugh Green (TX) McInnis Greene (UT) McIntosh Greenwood McKeon Gutierrez McKinney McNulty Gutknecht Hall (OH) Meehan Hall (TX) Meek Menendez Hamilton Hancock Metcalf Hansen Mevers Hastert Mica Millender-Hastings (FL) McDonald Hastings (WA) Hayworth Miller (CA) Hefley Miller (FL) Hefner Minge Mink Heineman Herger Moakley Hilleary Montgomery Moorhead Hilliard Hinchey Moran Morella Hobson Hoekstra Murtha Hoke Myers Holden Myrick Horn Nadler Hostettler Neal Nethercutt Houghton Hoyer Neumann Ney Norwood Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Nussle Oberstan Inglis Istook Obey Jackson (IL) Olver Jackson-Lee Ortiz (TX) Orton Oxley Jacobs Jefferson Packard Johnson (CT) Pallone Johnson (SD) Parker Johnson, E. B. Pastor

Johnson, Sam

Johnston

Jones

Paxon

Payne (NJ)

Payne (VA)

Petri Pickett Pombo Pomerov Porter Portman Poshard Prvce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Richardson Riggs Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Rose Roth Roukema Royce Rush Sabo Salmon Sanders Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Schroeder Schumer Scott Seastrand Serrano Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slaughter Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stokes Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Thornton Thurman Tiahrt Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Upton Velazguez Vento Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Walsh Wamp Ward Waters Watt (NC)

Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Ros-Lehtinen Roybal-Allard Sensenbrenner

Whitfield Watts (OK) Waxman Weldon (FL) Wicker Williams Weldon (PA) Wilson Weller Wise White Wolf NOT VOTING-15 Beilenson Hayes Ford McDade Gibbons Molinari Gunderson Mollohan Harman Owens □ 2205

Ms. WATERS, Mr. SCOTT, and Mr. WATT of North Carolina changed their vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two-thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended, and the bill, as amended, was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

REGARDING WITNESS RETALIA-TION. WITNESS TAMPERING. AND JURY TAMPERING

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. HOBSON). Pursuant to House Resolution 422 and rule XXIII, the Chair declares the House in the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union for the consideration of the bill. H.R.

□ 2205

IN THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Accordingly the House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 3120) to amend title 18, United States Code, with respect to witness retaliation, witness tampering, and jury tampering, with Mr. LATOURETTE in the chair.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to the rule, the bill is considered as having been read the first time.

Under the rules the gentleman from Florida [Mr. McCollum] and the gentleman from Michigan [Mr. CONYERS] will each be recognized for 30 minutes.

The Chair recognizes the gentleman from Florida [Mr. McCollum]

Mr. McCOLLUM. Mr. Chairman, I yield myself such time as I may

consume.

Mr. Chairman, in recent years, criminal sentences have increased in response to the scourge of drugs and violent crime, yet the penalties for retaliating against or tampering with witnesses, jurors, and court officials in criminal cases have remained unchanged. Some Federal and State prosecutors blame witness intimidation and juror tampering for the falling conviction rates in some parts of the country. Indeed, under current law, a defendant facing a Federal criminal sentence of 10 years or more may believe he or she is better off trying to influence the outcome of the trial by intimidating a witness, or tampering with a juror or court officer, because the maximum punishment for such crime is generally 10 years in prison.