ADJOURNMENT TO MONDAY, NOVEMBER 13, 1995

Mr. ARMEY. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 12:30 p.m. on Monday next for morning hour debates.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Texas?

There was no objection.

DISPENSING WITH CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS ON WEDNESDAY NEXT

Mr. ARMEY. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that the business in order under the Calendar Wednesday rule be dispensed with on Wednesday next

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Texas?

There was no objection.

ADJOURNMENT

Mr. ARMEY. Mr. Speaker, in light of the information that we have that some Members on the minority side intended to call a recorded vote on the motion to adjourn that would have occurred later this evening after special orders while our Members were scattered throughout the country, I move that the House do now adjourn.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Texas [Mr. ARMEY].

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the noes appeared to have it.

RECORDED VOTE

Mr. OBEY. Mr. Speaker, I demand a recorded vote.

A recorded vote was ordered.

Allard

Archer

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—ayes 164, noes 156, not voting 112, as follows:

[Roll No. 787]

Collins (GA)

Combest

AYES—164

Goodling

Graham

Gunderson Armey Cox Baker (CA) Crapo Gutknecht Ballenger Cremeans Hancock Cubin Barr Hansen Barrett (NE) Cunningham Hastert Hastings (WA) DeLay Doolittle Bartlett Bateman Havworth Hefley Bereuter Dornan Bilirakis Dreier Heineman Bliley Duncan Herger Ehrlich Hilleary Boehlert Emerson Hobson English Hoke Boehner Bonilla Flanagan Hostettler Bono Forbes Hunter Bryant (TN) Fox Hutchinson Bunn Franks (CT) Hyde Bunning Franks (NJ) Inglis Frelinghuysen Istook Burr Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Calvert Frisa Funderburk Castle Chabot Gallegly Jones Chambliss Ganske Gekas Kasich Kelly Chenoweth Gillmor Christensen Kim Chrysler Coble Gilman Goodlatte Kingston Knollenberg

LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Lazio Leach Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Livingston LoBiondo Lucas Manzullo McCollum McCrery McDade McInnis McKeon Metcalf Meyers Mica Molinari Moorhead Morella

Abercrombie

Barrett (WI)

Andrews

Bachus

Baesler

Barcia

Barton

Beilenson

Bentsen

Bilbray

Bishop

Borsk

Brewster

Browder

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Bryant (TX)

Canady

Cardin

Chapman

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coburn

Condit

Covne

Cramer

Danner

de la Garza

DeFazio

Deutsch

Doggett

Edwards

Dooley

Doyle

Engel

Evans

Fattah

Filner

Flake

Bass

Berman

Boucher

Burton

Callahan

Buyer

Camp

Clinger

Convers

Cooley

Crane

Deal

Clay

Brownback

Bonior

Foglietta

Ackerman

Baker (LA)

Farr

Davis

Costello

Coleman

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Baldacci

Shadegg Nethercutt Nev Shays Norwood Skeen Nussle Smith (N.J) Oxley Smith (TX) Packard Smith (WA) Paxon Souder Petri Spence Pombo Stearns Porter Stump Talent Portman Pryce Tate Radanovich Taylor (NC) Ramstad Thomas Regula Traficant Riggs Upton Roberts Waldholtz Rogers Walker Rohrabacher Watts (OK) Salmon Weller Sanford White Whitfield Saxton Schaefer Wicker Schiff Wolf Seastrand Zimmer Sensenbrenner

NOES-156

Frost Nadler Furse Neal Gephardt Oberstar Geren Gibbons Obey Olver Gilchrest Ortiz Gonzalez Orton Pallone Goss Pastor Payne (NJ) Hall (TX) Hamilton Payne (VA) Harman Peľosi Peterson (MN) Hayes Hefner Pomeroy Hilliard Posharď Hinchey Rahall Holden Reed Horn Rivers Hoyer Roemer Jackson-Lee Roybal-Allard Jefferson Johnson, E.B. Rush Sabo Sanders Kanjorski Kennelly Sawyer Schroeder Kildee Kleczka Schumer Klink Scott Lantos Serrano Levin Sisisky Lewis (GA) Skaggs Skelton Lincoln Lofgren Slaughter Lowey Luther Solomon Stark Stenholm Maloney Markey Stokes Stupak Mascara Matsui Tanner Taylor (MS) McCarthy McHale Thurman McKinney Torres McNulty Towns Visclosky Meek Menendez Ward Waters Mfume Miller (CA) Watt (NC) Minge Williams Wilson Mink Moakley Mollohan Woolsey Wyden Montgomery

NOT VOTING—112

DeLauro Dellums Ford Diaz-Balart Fowler Dickey Frank (MA) Gejdenson Gordon Dicks Dingell Dixon Greenwood Dunn Gutierrez Hall (OH) Durbin Hastings (FL) Hoekstra Ehlers Ensign Everett Houghton Ewing Fawell Jacobs Johnson (SD) Fazio Johnston Fields (LA) Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Fields (TX)

Wynn

Kennedy (RI) King Klug LaFalce Laughlin Lewis (CA) Lipinski Longley Manton Martinez Martini McDermott McHugh McIntosh Meehan Miller (FL) Murtha Myers Neumann Parker

Peterson (FL) Pickett Quillen Quinn Řangel Richardson Ros-Lehtinen Rose Roth Roukema Royce Scarborough Shaw Shuster Smith (MI) Spratt Stockman Studds Tauzin Thompson

Thornberry Thornton Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Tucker Velázquez Vento Volkmer Vucanovich Walsh Wamp Waxman Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Yates Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

□ 1604

So the motion was agreed to.
The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Accordingly (at 4 o'clock and 5 minutes p.m.), under its previous order, the House adjourned until Monday, November 13, 1995, at 12:30 p.m.

$\begin{array}{c} {\sf EXECUTIVE} \ \ {\sf COMMUNICATIONS}, \\ {\sf ETC}. \end{array}$

Under clause 2 of rule XXIV, executive communications were taken from the Speaker's table and referred as follows:

1634. A letter from the Secretary of Transportation, transmitting the annual report of the Maritime Administration [MARAD] for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 46 U.S.C. app. 1118; to the Committee on National Security.

1635. A letter from the Secretary of Energy, transmitting a copy of the annual report on the Coke Oven Emission Control Program for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to Public Law 101-549, section 301 (104 Stat. 2559); to the Committee on Commerce.

1636. A letter from the Secretary of Energy, transmitting the quarterly report on the Strategic Petroleum Reserve for the first quarter of 1995, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 6245(a); to the Committee on Commerce.

1637. A letter from the Secretary of Energy, transmitting the Department's report entitled "Energy Policy Act Transportation Study: Interim Report on Natural Gas Flows and Rates," pursuant to Public Law 102-486, section 1340(c) (106 Stat. 2993); to the Committee on Commerce.

1638. A letter from the Secretary of Energy, transmitting a draft of proposed legislation to repeal certain divestiture laws applying only to Department of Energy employees; to the Committee on Commerce. 1639. A letter from the Secretary of En-

1639. A letter from the Secretary of Energy, transmitting the Department's report entitled "1993 Annual Report on Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Progress"; to the Committee on Commerce.

1640. A letter from the Administrator, United States Environmental Protection Agency, transmitting the Agency's report entitled "Volatile Organic Compound Emissions for Consumer and Commercial Products," pursuant to section 183(e) of the Clean Air Act; to the Committee on Commerce.

1641. A letter from the General Counsel,

U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, transmitting copies of English and Russian texts of three implementing agreements negotiated by the Joint Compliance and Inspection Commission [JCIC] for the START Treaty; to the Committee on International Relations.

1642. A letter from the Associate Attorney General, Department of Justice, transmitting a report of activities under the Freedom