CONGRESSIONAL RECORD – HOUSE

Rose

Rush

Sabo

Schiff

Scott

Shaw

Shays

Spratt

Stark

Tate

Jacobs

Nadler

Reed

Roemer

Mica

Pursuant to clause 7 of rule XV. the yeas and nays are ordered. The vote was taken by electronic de-

vice, and there were-yeas 402, nays 24, not voting

6,	as	fol	low	S
	[F	loll	No.	7

Abercrombie Dickey Ackerman Dicks Allard Dingell Archer Dixon Armey Doggett Bachus Doolev Doolittle Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Dornan Baldacci Doyle Dreier Ballenger Barcia Duncan Barr Dunn Barrett (NE) Durbin Bartlett Edwards Ehlers Barton Ehrlich Bass Bateman Emerson Becerra Engel Bentsen English Berman Ensign Bevill Eshoo Bilbray Evans Bilirakis Everett Bishop Ewing Farr Fattah Bliley Blute Boehlert Fawell Boehner Fazio Fields (TX) Bonilla Flake Bonior Bono Flanagan Borski Foglietta Boucher Foley Brewster Forbes Browder Fowler Brown (CA) Fox Frank (MA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Franks (CT) Brownback Franks (NJ) Bryant (TN) Bryant (TX) Frisa Bunn Frost Funderburk Bunning Burr Furse Burton Gallegly Buyer Ganske Callahan Gejdenson Calvert Gekas Gephardt Camp Canady Geren Cardin Gibbons Gilchrest Castle Chabot Gillmor Chambliss Gilman Gonzalez Chapman Chenoweth Goodlatte Christensen Goodling Chrysler Goss Clay Graham Clayton Green Clinger Greenwood Clyburn Gunderson Coble Gutierrez Coburn Gutknecht Coleman Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Collins (GA) Hamilton Collins (IL) Hancock Hansen Collins (MI) Combest Condit Harman Conyers Hastert Hastings (FL) Coolev Costello Hastings (WA) Cox Hayes Hayworth Coyne Hefner Cramer Heineman Crane Herger Crapo Cremeans Hilleary Hilliarď Cubin Cunningham Hinchey Hobson Hoekstra Danner Davis de la Garza Hoke Deal Holden DeFazio Horn DeLauro Hostettler DeLay Houghton Dellums Hover Hunter Deutsch Diaz-Balart Hutchinson

748] YEAS-402 Hyde Inglis Istook Jackson-Lee Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kanjorski Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lantos Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Frelinghuysen Lightfoot Lincoln Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Lofgren Longley Lowey Lucas Luther Maloney Manton Manzullo Markey Martinez Martini Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCollum McCrery McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Metcalf Meyers Mfume Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Minge Mink Molinari Mollohan Montgomery Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Myers Myrick

Neal

Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomeroy Porter Portman Poshard Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Regula Richardson Riggs Rivers Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Andrews Baesler Barrett (WI) Beilenson Clement Filner Ford Gordon Be Fie

Nethercutt

Taylor (NC) Roukema Roybal-Allard Tejeda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Sanders Sanford Thornton Thurman Sawver Tiahrt Saxton Torkildsen Schaefer Torres Schroeder Torricelli Schumer Towns Traficant Seastrand Upton Visclosky Serrano Volkmer Shadegg Vucanovich Waldholtz Shuster Walker Sisisky Walsh Skaggs Wamp Skeen Waters Skelton Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Slaughter Smith (MI) Waxman Weldon (FL) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Weller Smith (WA) White Whitfield Solomon Souder Wicker Spence Williams Wilson Wise Stenholm Wolf Stockman Woolsev Wyden Stokes Studds Wynn Stump Yates Stupak Young (AK) Talent Young (FL) Zeliff Tauzin Zimmer NAYS-24 Hefley Salmon Scarborough Sensenbrenner Stearns Rangel Tanner

Taylor (MS)

Ward Royce NOT VOTING

Velazquez

Vento

NOT VOTING-6			
ereuter	Moakley	Tucker	
elds (LA)	Roth	Weldon (PA)	

□ 1423

Mr. WARD and Mr. ROYCE changed their vote from "yea" to "nay.

Mr. DINGELL changed his vote from 'nay' ' to ''yea''.

So the conference report was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

REMOVAL OF NAME OF MEMBER AS COSPONSOR OF H.R. 359

Mr. POSHARD. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that my name be removed as a cosponsor of H.R. 359.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. UPTON). Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Illinois? There was no objection.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mr. ABERCROMBIE. Mr. Speaker, on October 25, I inadvertently missed rollcall vote No. 735, the conference report on H.R. 2002, the transportation appropriation for fiscal year 1996. Had I been present I would have voted "yea.

APPOINTMENT OF ADDITIONAL CONFEREE ON H.R. 2491, SEVEN-YEAR BALANCED BUDGET REC-**ONCILIATION ACT OF 1995**

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. UPTON). Without objection, under the authority granted in clause 6 of rule X, the Speaker appoints Mr. BROWN of California as an additional conferee from the Committee on Agriculture for consideration of title I of the House bill, and subtitles A-C of title I of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference.

There was no objection.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Clerk will notify the Senate of the change in conferees.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries.

WAVING POINTS OF ORDER AGAINST CONFERENCE REPORT ON H.R. 1868. FOREIGN OPER-ATIONS, EXPORT FINANCING, AND RELATED PROGRAMS AP-**PROPRIATIONS ACT, 1996**

Mr. GOSS. Mr. Speaker, by direction of the Committee on Rules, I call up House Resolution 249 and ask for its immediate consideration.

The Clerk read the resolution, as follows:

H. RES. 249

Resolved, That upon adoption of this resolution it shall be in order to consider the conference report to accompany the bill (H.R. 1868) making appropriations for foreign operations, export financing, and related programs for the fiscal year ending Septem-ber 30, 1996, and for other purposes. All points of order against the conference report and against its consideration are waived. The motion printed in the report of the Committee on Rules accompanying this resolution to dispose of the amendment of the Senate numbered 115 may be offered only by Representative Callahan of Alabama or his designee. That motion shall be considered as read and shall be debatable for one hour equally divided and controlled by the proponent and an opponent. All points of order against that motion are waived. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on that motion to final adoption without intervening motion or demand for division of the question.

Mr. GOSS. Mr. Speaker, for the purpose of debate only, I yield the customary 30 minutes to my friend, the distinguished gentleman from Ohio [Mr. HALL], pending which I yield myself such time as I may consume. During consideration of this resolution, all time yielded is for the purpose of debate only

(Mr. GOSS asked and was given permission to include extraneous material in the RECORD.)

Mr. GOSS. Mr. Speaker, I am pleased to bring to the floor this rule to provide for consideration of the conference report for H.R. 1868, the foreign operations appropriations bill for fiscal